E.S.T

I’ve been having such amazing visits with a baby grand in North Chattanooga lately… Such a different experience from playing a 100-year-old upright, and it brings out totally different music from me.  Most people around here don’t even associate me with a piano–Heck!  I certainly don’t talk about myself as a pianist.  Never totally developed that identity, I suppose.  But still, it’s one of my happiest places, to be sitting at a piano with unlimited time to explore all the sounds and patterns of chords and notes.  Although the dulcimer is my true love, the piano is the thread of continuity that ties me back to my 4-year-old self.  How mysterious the keyboard must’ve seemed to me at that time, and how wonderful that I still find mystery in it today.  But most of all, as always, I find joy.

Here’s a video of the Esbjorn Svensson Trio, who make me feel like there could (or should!) someday be a jazz trio in my future.  File this one under “inspiration.”

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “E.S.T”

  1. Christie Burns says :

    I got turned on to the Esbjorn Svensson Trio sometime in 2003 when I was working at The Living Tradition in Cork. We had some of their CDs there, and I listened frequently! Haven’t really followed them, but continued to listen to the albums of theirs I had… I posted this video yesterday, just as an example of a truly soulful, fearless piano player. I started following the thread of related videos, totally reigniting my love of this band and the piano work especially, and this morning I come to find out that Esbjorn Svensson died in a scuba diving accident just over a year ago. Man.

  2. Fred says :

    Thanks for posting this Christie. You were the one that introduced me to this trio – wonderful stuff! I am so sorry to hear of the passing of Esbjorn Svensson. That’s a loss to creative improvised music.

  3. Richard says :

    Makes perfect sense, actually. What is a piano? It is an automatic 88-course hammered dulcimer!

    Think about it…

  4. reinbald says :

    “strange place for snow” from them is one of my fav’s on my iTunes.
    if you ever start a jazz-trio: jazz is my middle name.

Leave a Reply

