Tunes

Tunes tunes tunes!! This weekend I was paid a visit by the fabulous Helen Gubbins, a very dear close friend of mine from my Cork days. She primarily plays accordion, but whipped out a fantastic tune on my piano, which promptly became my favorite tune…

…Or at least it was my favorite tune for an hour or two before I got to the session at the Tremont Tavern and heard this new tune by Casey Phillips. Casey is a rock solid player and all-around terrific guy, and he knows approximately 3,424,502 tunes– and as if that’s not enough, he’s writing more! This one in particular completely won me over. I’ll be working on this one for the next few days.

Cockeyed Hen, by Casey Phillips, performed on tenor guitar at the Tremont Tavern, July 27, 2008:

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Tunes”

  1. Mike Sakarias says :

    That is a nice tune, somewhat untypical of Irish tunes with its low B-part. I always love watching guitar players playing a complex melody with their fingerboard hand dancing up and down the fingerboard.

    Mike
    Juneau, AK

Leave a Reply

