Clinch River Ramblers

Sometime late in 2007 I met little Ethan Ferguson at a campfire at the Cove Lake State Park in Campbell County, TN. He was playing fiddle, I was playing dulcimer, and we mutually became each other’s biggest fans that day. I was lucky to run into Ethan again this past weekend at the Louie Bluie Festival, also at the park, and I took this video of him and his band stealing the show. It’s hard to believe Ethan’s only 10 years old. He plays fiddle like a champ, runs that band like a CEO, and talks to the crowd like he’s a star on the Grand Ole Opry. It’s exciting to imagine the musical path this kid’s life will take. I hope our paths cross again!

Tags: , , ,

9 responses to “Clinch River Ramblers”

  1. Ned Smith says :

    Those little kids in front are doing the Fruge. They should be clogging. Somebody get on that.

  2. jamm says :

    Thanks for the blog about this charming young man. We love him here in East Tennessee. His banjo playing bud in the video is 16-year old Wade Darnell with Lacy Lee on guitar.

    Both Ethan and Wade have been playing their musical instruments for only two years. We think they are doing rather well.

    Looking forward to seeing you again soon Christie and Butch.

    Your CCC friends.

  3. Allison says :

    Ethan is fantastic and one of the sweetest boys! I could most definitely see him on the stage at the Grand Ole Opry.

  4. Anonymous says :

    Even Ethan’s aunt Laura has started to like bluegrass after following these talented,young people around. The little boy “dancing” is Ethan’s brother Eli. He is a special kid too.

    Laura

  5. Charlene says :

    Wonderful what these kids are doing!!! I’m always amazed at the musical talent in kids as young as these. I’m sure everyone who knows them are really proud of them and like the above comment “I can see them on the Grand Old Opry”. Wish I could have been there to do the “briarhopper stomp” otherwise known as clogging 🙂

    It’s great to see positive things happening in Campbell County and it’s the youth that will make it happen.

  6. Tammy Martin says :

    Hey Christie,
    It was so nice meeting you during the Chattanooga Festival. I was in your Variations class and you asked if you knew me and realized you had seen my name on the CD Baby site for ordering your CD. Anyhow, just wanted to say that I enjoyed your class and that I had meant to ask you a question and failed to do so. I was supposed to be in your Minor/Major class later in the afternoon, but did not feel well and had to go back to the hotel…otherwise I probably would have asked you then. Anyway…here goes: I believe I read on your blog that you had used your iPod to record you and Lisa Ferguson. I was wondering which iPod you have and what attachment did you use to record with. It would be so much easier to use my iPod to catch some things rather than using my laptop. If you are willing to share I sure would appreciate it. Also be sure and tell Butch that the person he helped carry her cart down the steps says THANK YOU again….that was me and I surely did appreciate it. Though the cart was a blessing between my car and the building…it sure was a curse inside. Thanks again for participating in the festival. I sure do enjoy the music that you and Butch make. Take care! Tammy Martin

  7. Fred says :

    I’m wondering if any videos from the Chattanooga Dulcimer Fest are going to be posted. Some of us who would have loved to have been there, couldn’t be. Got anything? 🙂

  8. mimi AND POP says :

    ETHAN FERGUSON IS OUR GRAND-SON AND SO PROUD HE IS DEDICATED TO HIS MUSIC AND ALSO GRATEFUL FOR ALL THE WONDERFUL COMMENTS R/T HIS ACCOMPLISHMENTS @ SUCH A YOUNG AGE. HE IS AS SWEET AS HIS MUSIC. ALSO LOVE THE LITTLE DANCER..ELI..ETHAN’S BIG BROTHER AND OUR GRAND-SON AS WELL, CAROLYN AND DAVE FERGUSON..POP AND MIMI

  9. Harold Hansen says :

    Just saw Ethan on Song of the Mountain on January, 15th. Great talent and performer.

    Hope he will put some clips up on youtube.

Leave a Reply

