Westfork Gals

I just was experimenting with the new recording function of my iPod, and decided to play a bit with one of my favorite old time tunes.  I first heard this tune in Cork at Monday night sessions with Mick Daly and the Lee Valley Boys, and fell in love with it all over again when I heard Dwight Diller’s recording of it.  It’s one of those tunes that sounds nice when it’s played slow.

The dulcimer is in perfect “house tuning,” meaning that it’s been sitting in the house, not being tuned.  It’ll get whipped into shape this weekend, though, for two gigs on Main Street.  Gotta love gigs three blocks from your house!

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Westfork Gals”

  1. Fred says :

    That was really nice. Thanks.

  2. Mike says :

    Thanks for the term “house tuning.” I’ve been wondering how to describe that tuning state, succinctly.

    I enjoy dropping by your blog from time to time. I also anjoy your playing. Thanks.

    Mike

Leave a Reply

