Sometimes it’s exactly what you expect…only better.

My days in Cork were so rich in music from the moment I arrived there. I hardly went anywhere without bringing my minidisc recorder along. This recording was made on November 14, 2001, which would’ve been just about 2 months after I first got to Cork for my year abroad. It was Tom Spackman and myself sitting off to the side of the session at the Gables on Barrack Street, listening to Christy Leahy on box, Johnny Neville on guitar, and Geraldine O’Callahan on fiddle. This continues to be one of the best sessions in Cork, in my opinion, although it’s never exactly the same twice. This particular night was probably the first night I started to fall in love with Johnny Neville’s guitar playing… I only wish I’d captured him singing. I pity any tourists who travel to Ireland in search of traditional music and end up sitting in a pub other than the Gables on a Wednesday or Sunday night. Unless it’s the Corner House, but that’s another story for another post.

Set of reels, recorded at the Gables, November 14, 2001.

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Sometimes it’s exactly what you expect…only better.”

  1. tommo says :

    Thanks for the shout out sweetheart. I remember that session. Thank god for recordings to be our time machines. What a time!

  2. Deirdre Ní Chonghaile says :

    The fourth tune (right?, in G) is ‘The Crooked Road to Dublin’… and I really should know the names to the other tunes…

Leave a Reply

