Wishing, by Ella Wheeler Wilcox

I bought a book of Ella Wheeler Wilcox’s poetry at an antique book store in Vienna, back in 2007 when I traveled there with my grandmother. It was in English, and had a really pretty velvety suede red cover, so I bought it for something like 10 euro. Just happened to be flipping through it the other day, and started experimenting with singing the poetry, instead of just reading it. This is one that came out:

If you look up Ella Wheeler Wilcox on google, you might find the wiki page that mentions her being listed as one of America’s worst poets.  But still, I find it fun to have “met” this American midwestern woman during my visit to Austria.  Her poetry is realistically optimistic, and she’s a real straight shooter when it comes to matters of romance and relationships.  I don’t know much about what makes poetry good or bad, but I do know it’s neat to be able to make up a melody and sing it to the verses of a poem written over a hundred years ago.

One response to “Wishing, by Ella Wheeler Wilcox”

  1. Jason Pfeiffer says :

    Hey Dulcimergyrl,

    I broke out “Here to Play” yesterday and it made me smile, so I thought I’d re-visit your blog and see what you were up to. Soundin’ mighty fine, I have to say. :)

    Hope you’re doing well.

    Cheers,
    J.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

